Trust Myself? You Must Be Joking…

“As soon as you trust yourself, you will know how to live.”  ~Johann Wolfgang Von Goethe

Seriously?

Yes.  Unfortunately, you have to trust yourself.  I know.  That’s got to be the most difficult task ever.  Right?

But as I discussed yesterday it would be great to step into the fullness of who we really are.  It would be magical to become that which we innately are, to embody our inner Superman.

In order to do that, we must trust ourselves.  Notice that I am using “we” and “our” because I have not fully arrived either.  I still pretend that I am “Clark Kent” in certain areas of my life as well.  The more I trust myself to be Superman, the more I am able to step into that.

Trust Is A Big Issue

Many people put a lot of weight on trust.  There are all kinds of excuses about WHY people cannot trust themselves.  There are a multitude of

“But you don’t know what I’ve been through.”
“(This) happened to me.”
“I’ve never been able to trust myself.”
“I always make the wrong decision.”

And on and on the list of excuses goes.  I’m going to be frank…they are JUST excuses.  There is no reason to not trust yourself.

Life’s A Journey

Our lives are a journey that we embark on for various reasons.  And each event along our life’s journey is there for a reason.  It may not be clear then, but there is a reason.  Always.

Each “wrong decision” was not a wrong decision.  It was simply a choice made along the journey.  That choice has a reason.  It has a purpose.  Every choice we make is just a choice.

You Are Superman

Do you think Superman would sweat over a purchase he made at the department store?  Would he toil over which movie to see?

Not likely.  It’s just a choice.

We, I mean the “inner Superman,” has tremendous inner power and potency that we systematically hide from the world and convince ourselves does not exist.  How silly is that?!

Why Do We Hide?

Trust.

Yes, we’re back to that.

We hide our true selves and our inner strength and power because we do not trust ourselves.  We do not trust that we are strong enough to handle it…criticism, laughing, adversity or whatever else.

Remember, we not only hide our power from others, we convince ourselves it’s not real.  So, we convince ourselves that the ridicule of others would be too much to bear.

Are you kidding me?!?  You.  Are.  Superman!!!  Inside, nothing is too much to bear.  Our inner strength and power is so immense and great that there is nothing we can’t handle.  Nothing.

Period.

Claim It

Claim, own, acknowledge your inner Superman.  Give him a great big hug and tell him how much you’ve missed him.  And maybe apologize for pretending he wasn’t real.

Then get out there and trust yourself and BE Superman!  Live the joyous and exuberant life you were created to live!

2 comments

Leave a Reply

