Bodies Know

Our bodies never ever lie to us!!!

I know.  This might be a stretch for some.  It’s true.  They do not lie.

My Dinner Last Night

I was driving home and passed this little restaurant and thought, “Oooh, they have good chocolate cake!”  So, I turned around and went in.  Once inside, I sat pouring over the menu trying to choose what to have for dinner (because I couldn’t just go straight to dessert right? That would be totally unheard of.) and not finding anything on the menu that sounded good.  I ordered Spaghetti Ala Leonardo.  My salad arrived and I ate the good stuff…the tomatoes, cucumbers, etc…and left the majority of the lettuce.  Then dinner came.

I ate about three bites and sat there saying to myself in my head, “Self.  Why did you order this?  We wanted chocolate cake.  Not spaghetti ala leonardo!  Cho-co-late cake.”

I asked her to box up the spaghetti…I’m not sure why.  And I left.  I felt somewhat sick after eating the spaghetti that clearly, my body did not desire to eat!

Have you ever done this?

It happens not only with food, but with clothes and activities.  Our bodies communicate something to us and then we second guess and think, “No.  That couldn’t possibly be correct.”

With food it can show up as I described above…complete dissatisfaction with what you are consuming.  One of those days where you sit and think, “I should’ve just ordered the steak I actually wanted instead of this salad.”

With clothes it might show up as feeling uncomfortable until you put on that top that you had initially thought about, but then “decided” wasn’t appropriate or whatever.

With activity it can also be that feeling uncomfortable or even pain.

Bodies are conscious

Our bodies are completely conscious.
And they talk to us all the time.

Why do we ignore them??  They never lie.  Seriously…NEVER.

Bodies don’t lie

I was out with a friend and the first thing I noticed on the menu was the filet mignon.  I’d just had steak, though and thought that I’d rather have the salmon.  But every time I looked at the menu, all I saw was steak.  My body really desired steak…and I actually had an “argument” with my body.  But since I’ve (mostly) learned to listen to my body, I ordered the steak…albeit reluctantly.

IT.  WAS.  HEAVENLY.

See?  Body knew.  Body knew what I was unwilling to know.  So, kudos to you body!!  Thanks!

My Invitation

Tune into your body when choosing something that affects it…like food, clothes, movement, etc.  Ask your body what it would desire to have or do.

Would you be willing to let go of all the cultural mindsets about what you “should do” and just ask your body what it would like?

In Gratitude,
Sarah

Leave a Reply

