Hiding Out

I had an interesting conversation once with a young man.  He explained to me that the reason he chose his career was his fear of “the real world.”

In high school, he became aware that he was almost an adult and so began to work to excel in sports so he could ha

ve a scholarship to buy him time in his avoidance of “the real world.”

Then in college, he worked to avoid the real world by pursuing professional athletics.

As a professional athlete, his primary drive was his fear of having to enter the real w

orld, get a real job….perhaps live a real life (that part is my point of view).

Living Life

We each have a life to live.  We have things that we are here to learn or achieve or complete.  We are here to live.

What’s th

e point otherwise?  Why even be here if we are not living life?!!

Hiding Out

In what ways are you hiding out?

What are you choosing in order to hide out or avoid living life?

We all do it on some level.  We make choices, turn them into “have to’s” so we can use them as excuses for avoiding living.

Personal Confession

I work in a barn about 35 miles from my home.  I adore the place.  The barn owner has been great.  I adore working in barns, being around horses, communing with nature and such.

I’ve told myself that I “have to” work there because I need the money.  (Note:  There is a fear attached here.)

The reality is (when I look past the fear) that the money I get working there probably just covers my gas getting there and back.

What would be generative for me?  Well, maybe having more clients?  A local job?  Stay home & not use the gas?  There are infinite possibilities!

And I use it as an excuse to hide out.  It’s safe.  It’s comfortable.  It’s familiar.  Right?

Why do I do it?  It’s clearly not logical.

Fear

It’s not really real.  And we are great at making it very real.  We make it more real than living!

Fear of being rejected by friends and family.
Fear of passing others up.
Fear of judgment.
Fear of the unknown or uncertainty.

We make it so much more real than what actually is!

STOP

Stop letting fear of living rule your life!  Get out there and make the choices that actually contribute to your life and living!  If the life you are currently living is based on fear of the real world, get out there into the real world!

It’s fun!

It’s generative and rewarding!

The real world ROCKS!

Much Gratitude,
Sarah

All of Life Comes to Me with Ease, Joy and Glory!

Leave a comment