Focus

Last night I stood outside while the horses ate their grain. I love standing there, listening to the slow munching and gentle sighs. It’s my own little slice of heaven.

As I was standing there, I watched the stars move slowly across the sky above us. I could see Orion quite clearly, even with traces of high clouds. In my peripheral vision, I noticed a cluster of stars. It was roughly the size of my thumb from where I stood. But when I moved my eyes to look at it, I couldn’t see it. I looked away toward another star and could clearly see a cluster of many, many stars. Again, when I looked at the spot where it was, it was gone.

I thought a lot about focus standing there. How often, when we focus on something, we actually lose sight of it. How when we hold tightly to something, we lose it.

Why is this?

I am aware that when I try to focus intently on something, I really contract down to concentrate that much. I squint my eyes. I even tighten my body more. When I relax my focus, when I relax my brow & drop my shoulders, I can actually see more clearly.

This has happened to me during a guided meditation too. The facilitator was talking and we were relaxing more and more into the meditation and a picture began to come to me. I tried to focus on the picture and it went away. I found myself searching the backs of my eyelids with my eyeballs. When I let go and began to relax again, it began to come to me. Again, I tried to see what it was and “look at it.” It quickly went away.

What if NOT focusing on something is the key to bringing it to you?

What if letting it go is what is required?

Have you ever lost something…the vision of something perhaps…trying too hard to focus on it?

Much Gratitude!

Leave a Reply

