Adoration

I found this quote from Glennon Doyle Melton one day.  I have no idea where I saw it.  I saw it and copied & pasted it into an email because I knew if I didn’t, I would not likely find it again.

I like to compare God’s love to the sunrise. That sun shows up every morning, no matter how bad you’ve been the night before. It shines without judgment. It never withholds. It warms the sinners, the saints, the druggies, the cheerleaders—the saved and the heathens alike. You can hide from the sun, but it won’t take that personally. It’ll never, ever punish you for hiding. You can stay in the dark for years or decades, and when you finally step outside, it’ll be there. It was there the whole time, shining and shining. It’ll still be there, steady and bright as ever, just waiting for you to notice, to come out, to be warmed.

What is adoration?

I bet it looks a lot like this.  No judgment.  Nothing withheld.  Total allowance of you.  Sounds pretty phenomenal right?

I’m betting adoration is like that.

Can you love YOU with total adoration?

Are you aware that no one…NO ONE…can have total adoration for you if you don’t have total adoration for you???

It’s true!

Can you adore you without judgment?  Can you not withhold (not one single iota of adoration) from you?  Can you have total allowance of you?

What would that look like?!!  Like total adoration!  Seriously.  It would look like you having adoration and complete gratitude for yourself all day and night.  Wow!

Do you get how completely yummy and delicious that would be?  Mmmmmm….

I can’t possibly do that.  Total adoration?  Are you kidding me?!

I get it.  It seems like such a non-choice.

I have fucked up more than you could ever know. I had a horrible, abusive childhood. I can’t possibly undo all the bad things I’ve done.

There are a million and one reasons why adoration is not possible, right?

WRONG!

There may be a million and one excuses.  BUT I am here to tell you that total adoration for you is possible!!!

I would absolutely be so grateful for the opportunity to contribute to you adoring you!!!!

Leave a Reply

